What’s more important – my chair or my soul?

Sometimes things happen to, or around, me that it takes me a while to rebound from. Sometimes it’s the actual incident, but more often it’s the principle of the matter. One such thing that sends my water to about 98.5°F is when persons in some position of authority (real or implied) take it too far. There are, of course, more examples of this in day-to-day life than I care to mention, but here is the one from today.

(Sidenote – I really thought I was done venting about this, but again, it’s the principle.)

My husband and I attend a very large church; possibly one of the largest in the country, certainly one of the largest in Houston. Normally we ride to church together, but this morning was an exception. I arrived reasonably early; he was quite late. I found a seat when I arrived and saved one for him. During the opening part of the worship service (mostly announcements) the usher on that aisle asked if anyone was sitting in the seat next me. “Yes,” I replied, “my husband.” After a few more minutes, the usher returned again. “Do you know if he’s coming?”
“Yes, he’s running late (obviously). He’s coming.”

file0001397347614This inquiry was repeated probably 4 times after that while I was trying to turn my attention to the choir and center myself for church. The last time, he made sure to tell me what time it was, as if to imply that if my husband was not there by that time, that he was likely not coming. Let me be clear – there was ample seating left for others. This usher just felt the need to make sure that particular seat was occupied.

So that I could control my own temper and try to get what I could out of the service, I moved and let him have both seats. Do you know he had the audacity to ask me why I moved? Somebody hold my mule!

The purpose of ushering in church is not merely to serve people, as in a theater or restaurant. Its purpose is to serve God. When the ushers see to it that an atmosphere of reverence and order is maintained before, during, and after the service, they do it for God. When they usher the worshippers to their seats, they do it for God. When they gather the offerings, they serve God. What they do, they do not “as unto men, but unto God.” They are a part of the total congregation which presents itself before God to worship Him.
(Excerpt from Pastor: Do’s and Don’ts on Ushering)

If every time I make eye contact with you, you are inquiring about the empty seat next to me, that whole atmosphere of reverence piece has been annihilated. Let’s suppose, for the sake of supposing, that I’d been a visitor at this church today. What is the likelihood that I will return?

Let’s suppose, for the sake of supposing, that I was having a really terrible morning and I drug myself to church in order to feel better? How much better do I feel?

Let’s suppose, for the sake of supposing, that the reason my husband was delayed was because he witnessed a terrible accident on the way to church and stopped to be a good Samaritan?

Let’s suppose, for the sake of supposing, that rather than move, I chose to get into a verbal altercation because I was being harassed about a chair.

All are likely and probable additional factors that should have been considered before asking me ONE MORE TIME about that chair.

With authority, must also come wisdom and discernment. The absence of wisdom and discernment, can sometime create irreparable damage. Particularly in church, we have to be more cautious how we treat God’s people. People come to church at many different places on the wounded scale, but all are wounded – seeking healing from the Master. If the things you do, in the name of your authority, interfere with their healing, may Heaven have mercy on your soul.

Okay . . I think I’m done.

I’d love to hear your feedback – even if you think I’m completely wrong on this one. Let’s discuss.

2 thoughts on “What’s more important – my chair or my soul?

Leave a comment