I Remember Ruby

#tbt This morning Ruby Abernathy crossed my mind. When I was an 8th grade student at Lanier Middle School, we were assigned a service project for history class.

Image

Lanier Middle School

I don’t remember the exact requirement, but we had to find a place to serve and then write about it.

I volunteered at Thomas Care Center on W. Fuqua – a senior care facility. Ms. Abernathy was a resident there.

Although I worked with several of the residents – serving meals, fluffing pillows, and general duties as assigned – I spent most of my time with Ms. Ruby. She liked to talk. Her conversation topics are a distant memory, but I sure remember her smile. Because a broken hip left her immobile, she never got out of her bed. It was, however, evident to me even in my youth, that her spirit could not be caged.

When I look back over my life, there are several moments that clearly indicate that I was headed toward a life of service. This is one of them. So today, on this Throwback Thursday, I remember Ruby with gratitude, honor and joy.

Thomas Care Center

Thomas Care Center

Leave a comment